PICATINNY ARSENAL, N.J. – Three Picatinny Arsenal retirees were inducted into the Ammunition Hall of Fame at a ceremony here  on Dec. 2

Chris Kimker, Jr., made many contributions to tank munitions, which include fielding of 10 new or improved 105mm, 120mm, and 25mm rounds. As the Deputy, Program Manager Tank Main Armament Systems, he guided the fielding of the first 120mm ammunition to emerge from the Armament Enhancement Initiative program, i.e., the M829A2 kinetic energy round and the M830A1 high explosive multipurpose round that also embodied the first tank-fired anti-helicopter defense capability. Kimker formulated strategy to preserve depleted uranium penetrator manufacturing, thus preserving critical industrial base capabilities.

Col. (Ret.) Raymond Pawlicki, an Ordnance Corps branch Army acquisition professional and highly successful project manager of successively important ACAT I to III programs, stands as one the Army’s most successful engineer-managers in programs originating at Picatinny Arsenal. He brought the 155mm Paladin program to full production two months ahead of schedule by means of a “paperless ASARC decision,” reflecting stakeholder acknowledgement of the astute management of all aspects of this program. During his tenure as Program Manager Tank Main Armament Systems, his organization’s 120mm M829A1 kinetic energy munition became known as the “Silver Bullet” for its devastating effects against Republican Guard armor during Operation Desert Storm.

Robert Reisman worked his way up to Chief of ARDEC Precision Munitions Directorate, and eventually retired as the head of the Army’s Science and Technology group, working for the Army’s Secretary of Acquisition, Logistics, and Technology. His career touched every stage throughout the acquisition life-cycle and spanned across many armament products, from tank ammunition, prior to and during the Armament Enhancement Initiative days of the Cold War; to the Army’s champion for the operational use of smart or precision munitions. Reisman passed away in 2002.

Accepting on behalf of Reisman was his widow, Sheila Reisman, and their son, Garrett Reisman, a former NASA astronaut who participated in Space Shuttle and International Space Station missions.

“This is our fifth group of inductees, and we our eager to carry on with this tradition. Honoring those who have met the challenge to provide the most reliable and lethal munitions in the world to our joint forces,” said Brig, Gen. Alfred Abramson III, Picatinny Arsenal Senior Commander and Deputy ProgramExecutive Officer Ammunition.

“Three people that had total influence over my career,” John Hedderich III, Director, Armament Research, Development and Engineering Center, said of the three inductees. “Three individuals that I served with were all role models.”

Kimker, a resident of Mine Hill, New Jersey, said, “I accept this induction today, understanding very well that this could never have happened had it not been for the support and dedication I had over the past years from my family and my coworkers, truly is a team thing."

“They say you can’t come home again, but I guess you can,” said Pawlicki, “I appreciate being back here and I thank leadership for this opportunity.”

“If my dad was here, what would he say?” Reisman asked rhetorically. “He would be so happy to see his friends here. You guys meant a lot to him.”

Reisman, Kimker and Pawlicki joined the following 2016 Ammunition Hall of Fame Inductees, who were inducted at other locations:
-- John Byrd, former director of the Ammunition Center and School at Savanna Army Depot.
-- Louie Dellamonica, who served 65 years as an engineer at Hawthorne Army Depot.
-- Dale Pollard, who served 57 years at Lake City Ammunition Plant as an acquisition and executive professional.
-- Brig. Gen. John Pitman, a historical inductee, who served the Army during the Civil War and post-war era under the Ordnance Department.